Faculty / Staff

Transportation research experts, each with a broad range of experience and specialized skills, make up the Urban Transportation Center research staff. The permanent UTC research staff is comprised of three doctoral level researchers and four master’s level researchers. An administrative staff of three professionals provides support to the UTC transportation research team.

UTC researchers also work closely with UIC affiliated faculty from other colleges and departments. And, Ph.D., graduate and undergraduate students from UIC provide valuable support to UTC researchers on many transportation studies.

UTC Senior Research Staff

P.S. Sriraj, Ph.D.
Director of the Urban Transportation Center, Director of Metropolitan Transportation Support Initiative (METSI) and Research Programs, Research Associate Professor
Public transportation systems, Welfare-to-work, Transportation Asset Management, GIS in transportation, Socio-economic Factors in Transportation, Systems Thinking/Complex Problems in Transportation.
370 CUPPA Hall
Read P.S. Sriraj’s biography

Robert E. Ginsburg, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Transportation Policy and Finance focused on Public Transit and Inter-modal Freight, Government Finance and Budgets, Public Administration,  Impacts of Technology and Economic Development, Regional Economic Development, Evaluation and Development of Alternative Energy Projects.
351 CUPPA Hall
Read Robert Ginsburg’s biography.

Paul Metaxatos, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Research Programs and Research Associate Professor
Passenger and Freight Demand Forecasting, Intelligent Transportation Systems Planning, Transit Planning.
368 CUPPA Hall
Read Paul Metaxatos’ biography.
Website profile.

UTC Research Staff

Lise Dirks, MA
Senior Associate
Land Use and Travel Behavior, Public Transportation Planning and Policy, Job Access/Reverse Commute Program, Geographic Information Systems in Transportation.
366 CUPPA Hall
Read Lise Dirks’ biography.

Jim Keene, MBA
Transit Oriented Development (TOD) Program
Read Jim Keene’s biography.

James C. LaBelle, MA
Senior Research Specialist

Read Jim LaBelle’s biography.

Stephen E. Schlickman, JD
Senior Research Specialist
Schlickman & Associates
UTC Director 2010-2015

UTC Administrative Staff

Silvia Becerra
Human Resources Associate
372 CUPPA Hall
Read Silvia Becerra’s biography.

Edward M. Bury, APR
Public Information Coordinator
362 CUPPA Hall
Twitter: https://twitter.com/edwardmbury
Read Edward Bury’s biography

George Yanos
Principal Research Programmer
Information Technology and Transportation
349 CUPPA Hall
Read George’s brief biography.

Professor Emeritus and Past Directors

Ashish Sen, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Urban Planning
UTC Director 1996-1998

Siim Sööt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
UTC Director 1998-2000
Read Siim Sööt’s biography

Sue McNeil, Ph.D.
Professor, University of Delaware College of Engineering
UTC Director 2000-2005

Website profile

Piyushimita (Vonu) Thakuriah, Ph.D.
Halcrow Chair of Transport, Professor of Urban Studies and Affiliated Professor of the School of Engineering, University of Glasgow
UTC Director 2005-2010

Website profile


Visit the links below to: