UIC George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards

UIC George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards

Winners of 2018 Krambles Awards Announced

Two doctoral candidates, a master’s candidate and an undergraduate student were awarded scholarships for participating in the 2018 George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards managed by the Urban Transportation Center.

Recipients for 2018 are:

Sudheer Ballare

Sudheer Ballare. A PhD candidate in the UIC College of Engineering, Sudheer is in his final year of research and is studying solutions to urban logistics problems. He’s also working as a research assistant at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency at the Ann Arbor, Michigan office. Upon earning his doctorate, Sudheer plans to pursue a career in urban logistics and sustainable transportation.






Emma Chapman (right) and Dr. P.S. Sriraj


Emma Chapman. Prior to attending UIC to pursue a master’s of business administration degree in the College of Business, Emma held full-time positions with theChicago Transit Authority and Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, as well as an international engineering/design firm, a financial rating company and leading transportation research organization.  Emma is committed to a career in public transportation and is passionate about enhancing mobility options.



Anthony Misiak and Dr. P.S. Sriraj

Anthony Misiak. Anthony, who is pursuing a bachelors degree in Urban Studies from the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs, has completed successful internships with Metra and the Village of Schiller Park. He is committed to improving public transportation and plans to “reshape how we think about transit” and bring what was taught in the classroom to find real world solutions to transportation challenges.






Ali Shamshriripour and Dr. P.S. Sriraj

Ali Shamshiripour. One of Ali’s long-term goals in life is to contribute to society through effective transportation engineering. He holds a master’s degree in transportation engineering from his native Iran and is in pursuit of a doctorate in that field through the UIC College of Engineering. He currently is president of the Institute of Transportation Engineers UIC Chapter.

Winners of 2017 Krambles Awards Announced January 8, 2018

Mohamadhossein Noruzoliaee and Fatemeh Nazari, 2017 Krambles Awards recipients, at the UTC and CUPPA Alumni Association Reception at the 2018 TRB Annual Meeting.

Three PhD candidates from the University of Illinois at Chicago were awarded scholarships for participation in the 2017 George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards. Announcement of the recipients was made January 8, 2018 at the UTC and CUPPA Alumni Association Reception held during the 2018 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting.

UTC Director Dr. P.S. Sriraj announced these Krambles Awards recipients at the reception:

Mohamadhossein Noruzoliaee for paper on: “Modeling Travelers’ Adoption of Autonomous Vehicles and Transportation System Performance.”

Fatemeh Nazari for paper on: “Shared Mobility vs. Private Car Ownership: A Multivariate Analysis of Public Interest in Autonomous Vehicles.”

Jaeyong Shin for paper on: “The Role of Residential Location Choice on the Travel Behavior of Young Adults.”

About the 2017 Krambles Scholarship Awards Recipients

  • Mohamadhossein is working towards his doctorate in Transportation Engineering within the UIC College of Engineering.  His research interests include transportation systems networking and modeling and emerging urban mobility services.  He earned Krambles scholarships in 2015 and 2016.
  • Fatemeh Nazari is a PhD student studying within the UIC Department of Civil and Materials Engineering. In 2016, Fatemeh earned the David Boyce Graduate Award at UIC. Research interests include integrated transportation energy modeling and analysis.
  • Jaeyong Shin is pursuing his doctorate in Urban Planning and Policy through the UIC College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs.  He has been a research assistant on studies involving a model for simulating social exclusion and analysis using GIS.  Jaeyong was a Krambles Award scholarship winner in 2016.

About the Krambles Awards Competition

George Krambles

The annual Krambles Awards was established to honor the accomplishments of a legendary Chicago public transit leader.  The program is open to any UIC Ph.D. or second-year Master’s degree candidate student within the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs, College of Engineering, College of Business Administration or College of Public Health who is studying transportation, or a UTC Graduate Research Assistant working during the Fall 2018 semester.


Krambles Awards Archive Page

Visit the George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards Archive page to learn more about Mr. Krambles and past scholarship winners.