UIC George Krambles 2020 Transportation Scholarship Awards

Applications Accepted Through November 27, 2020

The annual UIC George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards program was established to honor the accomplishments of a legendary Chicago public transit leader.

This year, the program is open to any PhD or Master’s degree candidate or undergraduate student in good academic standing within the University of Illinois at Chicago who plans a career in the transportation industry.

This year marks the 14th year the Krambles Scholarship program has been managed by the Urban Transportation Center. Scholarships will be awarded. All participants must demonstrate that he or she plans to pursue a career in some aspect of the transportation industry, such as planning, policy development, operations, and management.

How to Participate:

Participants are required to prepare a PDF document that includes these four components.

  • Letter: Draft a letter of interest detailing why the candidate plans to pursue a career in transportation.
  • Resume/CV: Submit a current resume or CV, including Grade Point Average. Applicants must be in good academic standing.
  • Transcript: Submit an academic transcript from an accredited institution of higher education.
  • References: Furnish three references (name, email, phone, and affiliation).  Two of the references should be from the academic community.

Judging Criteria:  All submissions will be judged on these three criteria:  a) The effectiveness of the candidate’s statement on pursuing a career in public transportation; b) The quality of the resume and academic standing of the student; c) The caliber of the references.

Submission Timeline: Students planning to participate in the 2019 Krambles Awards must submit the required document by 5 p.m. November 27, 2020.

How to Enter: Candidates must submit all required materials in either print format to Dr. Paul Metaxatos, Urban Transportation Center, Suite 340 CUPPA Hall (m/c 357), 412 S. Peoria St., Chicago, IL 60607, or electronically as a single PDF document to pavlos@uic.edu.  Questions should be directed to Dr. Metaxatos at (312) 996-4713 or Edward Bury at 312-413-1967 or ebury@uic.edu.

Scholarship Awards: Scholarship awards will be given based on the recommendations of the awards judging committee.

Announcement of Winners: Scholarship winners for the 2020 competition will be announced in January of 2021.