Winners of 2019 Krambles Awards Announced

a man and woman stand next to each other in front of a bookcase, holding a certificate between them

Three UIC students representing the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs and the College of Engineering were awarded a 2019 Krambles Transportation Scholarship. The official announcement was made by Dr. P.S. Sriraj during the UTC and CUPPA Alumni Association Reception held January 13 during the 2020 Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board.

The annual UIC George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards program was established to honor the accomplishments of a legendary Chicago public transit leader.  This year, the program is open to any PhD or Master’s degree candidate or undergraduate student in good academic standing within the University of Illinois at Chicago who plans a career in the transportation industry.

This year marks the 13th year the Krambles Scholarship program has been managed by the Urban Transportation Center. Scholarships will be awarded. All participants must demonstrate that he or she plans to pursue a career in some aspect of the transportation industry, such as planning, policy development, operations and management.

The recipients for 2019 are:

  • Amy Hofstra, PhD Student, UIC College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (pictured above)
  • Tim McMahon, Masters Candidate, UIC College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (pictured below)
  • Ehsan Rahimi, PhD Candidate, UIC College of Engineering (pictured below)