Transportation Research Board 2017



More than 70 transportation professionals from the U.S. and overseas joined Urban Transportation Center faculty and staff researchers and University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) affiliated faculty colleagues at the UTC and CUPPA Alumni Association Reception held January 9 during the 2017 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

For the third year, the reception was held at Arcadiana restaurant and featured networking, socializing and the announcement of the winners of the 2016 George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards. Sponsorship was provided by Schlickman & Associates and uGRIDD.


UTC Director Dr. P.S. Sriraj welcomed guests, which included past Director Piyushimita (Vonu) Thakuriah, Ph.D. and Executive Director Steve Schlickman, recognized staff and affiliated faculty researchers for their contributions, and shared highlights from 2016.  These included:

Around 20 alumni from the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (CUPPA) and other academic departments at UIC attended.  UTC researchers also contributed to the 2017 TRB Annual Meeting, which attracts more than 12,000 professionals from around the world, by participating in committee meetings, delivering presentations and sharing transportation research results.

Here’s a photo montage of the January 9 reception:

UTC Director Dr. P.S. Sriraj.


Krambles Award 1st Place winner Ramin Shabanpour and Dr. Sriraj.


Moyin Li, Krambles Award 3rd Place Winner (tie) and Dr. Sriraj.


Jaeyong Shin, Krambles Award 3rd Place Winner (tie) and Dr. Sriraj.


PhD Candidate Takanori Sakai and Dr. Kazuya Kawamura, University of Illinois at Chicago.


Claire Randall, MUPP, TRB staff, former UTC executive director Steve Schlickman and Dr. Christopher Barkan, director NURail Center.


Mrs. and Mr. Mahmoud Javanmardi, UIC Alumni, Dr. Sybil Derrible and Dr. Nebiyou Tilahun of the University of Illinois at Chicago.


The reception attracted more than 70 CUPPA Alumni and guests.


The reception was sponsored by Schlickman & Associates and uGRIDD.


Thanks to all who attended the reception at Arcadiana restaurant.