Transportation Research Board 2018

More than 65 transportation scholars and professionals from across the U.S. and overseas joined Urban Transportation Center faculty researchers and staff and University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) affiliated faculty colleagues at the UTC and CUPPA Alumni Association Reception held January 8 during the 2018 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

For the fourth year, the reception was held at Acadiana restaurant near the Washington Convention Center and featured networking, socializing and the announcement of the winners of the 2017 George Krambles Transportation Scholarship Awards.

Generous sponsorship was provided by CN Railway.

UTC Director Dr. P.S. Sriraj welcomed guests, recognized staff, affiliated faculty researchers, and graduate research assistants for their contributions, and shared highlights from 2017. Also, Dr. Bo Zou, a UTC Affiliated Faculty member from the Department of Civil and Materials Engineering, announced winners of the Eisenhower Awards.

Among the guests were former UTC Director Dr. Robert E. Paaswell, now Distinguished Professor at the City College of New York. Other guests represented the City of Chicago Department of Transportation, the Chicago Transit Authority, the Metropolitan Transit Authority, the Transportation Research Board, DePaul University’s Chaddick Institute, Morgan State University, the NURail consortium, the Shared Use Mobility Center, Benesch Consulting and Engineering News Record magazine.

Around 15 alumni from the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (CUPPA) and other academic departments at UIC attended.  UTC researchers also contributed to the 2018 TRB Annual Meeting, which attracts more than 14,000 professionals from around the world, by participating in committee meetings, delivering presentations and sharing transportation research results.

Want to revisit past TRB receptions hosted by the Urban Transportation Center? Please visit the links below:

Here’s a photo montage of the January 8, 2018 reception:

Former UTC Director Dr. Robert E. Paaswell and UTC Director Dr. P.S. Sriraj.

The 2018 UTC and CUPPA Alumni Reception was sponsored by CN Railway.










Dr. Nadereh Moini, UTC Associated Director of Research Programs Dr. Paul Metaxatos, Dr. P.S. Sriraj.

Mohamadhossein Noruzoliaee, 2017 Krambles Award 1st place recipient and Dr. P.S. Sriraj.










Fatemeh Nazari, 2017 Krambles Award 2nd place recipient and Dr. P.S. Sriraj.


NURail Center Director Dr. Chris Barkan, Dr. Kazuya Kawamura and Dr. Bo Zou.










Patrick Casey, CTC Associates, and Caitlin Cottrill, University of Aberdeen.

Michael Shiffer, MTA Metro North, and Luann Hamilton, CDOT.









Mary Kay Christopher, MKC Associates and guest.


Dr. P.S. Sriraj and Grace Gallucci, NOACA.









UTC graduate research assistant Sarah Geinosky (right) and guest.

Ali Shamshiripour, Ramin Shabanpour, Dr. Takanori Sakai.









Jim Pronsons and Aileen Cho of Engineering News Record and James Blanusha, Benesch Consultants.


The reception attracted more than 65 transportation scholars and professionals.









Guests along with a future transportation leader.

Claire Randall and Karen Febey, Transportation Research Board.